EXPORT CREDIT INSURANCE CORPORATION OF SOUTH AFRICA SOC LTD

ECIC Solutions

Financial Institutions

Absa Bank Theuns Ehlers Theuns.Ehlers@absacapital.com 011-895 7525
082 784 0977
Standard Bank Asanda Tsotsi asanda.tsotsi@standardbank.co.za 011-344 5779
RMB Inal Henry inal.henry@rmb.co.za  
Investec Anusha Parbhoo anusha.Parbhoo@investec.co.za 011-286 7362
083 395 2252
Nedbank  Michael Creighton MichaelCr@Nedbank.co.za 011-294 2814
083 325 1137
Nedbank  Terry Makhubele terrym@nedbank.co.za 011- 294 2814
DBSA Hildabertha Kundu hildabertha@dbsa.org 011-313 3623
078 894 2364
IDC Thokoane Tsolo thokoanet@idc.co.za 011 269 3649
Standard Chartered Marianna Papadopoulos marianna.papadopoulos@sc.com 011-217-8206
083-270-0334
Citi Peter Crawley peter.crawley@citi.com 011-944-0693
BNP Paribas  Vikas Khandelwal vikas.khandelwal@bnpparibas.com 011-088-2121
JP Morgan Richard Wilkins richard.s.wilkins@jpmorgan.com +44 20 7742 5318 
HSBC Mteto Mvusi  mteto.mvusi@hsbc.com +44 20 7991 6202

Export Credit

Buyer Credit Cover:

ECIC provides insurance cover to a financial institution domiciled in South Africa which has negotiated a financial agreement with a foreign buyer who is promoting a particular project of which:

The proceeds of the loan may be paid directly to the exporter/buyer during the delivery period, and the foreign buyer undertakes to repay the loan at the agreed credit terms. The loan may be structured as project finance, corporate finance, asset backed finance or sovereign finance deal.

ECIC provides 100% Political Risk Insurance Cover and 85% to 100% Commercial Risk Insurance Cover (case by case) on the loan amount.

Guaranteed rates of exchange is available.

Investment Insurance

Commercial Loans Insurance Cover:

ECIC provides cover against political risks to financial institutions that provide commercial loans to foreign enterprises and governments for projects or other business ventures that would enable private investments in emerging market economies.

Such a loan for the financing of an investment could be associated with a new project as well as the expansion or financial restructuring of existing projects and acquisitions involving the privatization of state-owned enterprises.

Approval must be obtained from the host government and the South African Reserve Bank.

ECIC provides 90% Political Risk insurance on the loan value as well as the breach of contract by the host government of its contractual obligations

Eligibility Requirement:

For transactions on the African continent the minimum SA content should be 50% and combined SA content plus content from other African countries (including the host country) should not be less than 70%. For transactions outside the African continent, the minimum SA content applicable to such export credit facilities as well as commercial loans shall be 70%.

The facility must be provided by a financial institution domiciled in South Africa or a subsidiary of such a financial institution, which will be insured. The entity need not necessary be a South African company or a South African owned company. Approval must be obtained from the host country government (if required) as well as the South African Reserve Bank for the provision of the loan.

The export contract must have a minimum credit term of 2 years and a maximum of 10 years or more if required. Repayment periods more than 10 years can be considered on a case by case basis depending on the nature of the project.

The exporter will be required to pay a 15% down payment.

EXPORT CREDIT INSURANCE CORPORATION OF SOUTH AFRICA SOC LTD

+27 12 471 3800 |
+27 12 471 3850 |
info@ecic.co.za
Block C7 & C8 Eco Origins Office Park, 349 Witch Hazel Avenue,
Highveld Ext 79, Centurion, 0157 South Africa
Copyright 2018 by ECIC | Terms Of Use | Privacy Statement | Powered by: WoW Interactive | | ECIC is a registered Financial Services Provider: FSB No. 30656